Tuesday, March 21, 2023
Tuesday, March 21, 2023

    Delaware County District Judges Sworn In Wednesday

    Your Content is a nonprofit newsroom that investigates abuses of power. Sign up to receive our biggest stories as soon as they’re published.

    Get Your Content. Daily.

    Be the first to know about the biggest stories as they break. Sign up for breaking news email alerts from Your Content.

    MEDIA, Pa. (YC) — The new year has brought two new faces to the Delaware County minor judiciary.

    The induction ceremony included 13 district judges who were re-elected or newly elected to serve for a 6-year term.

    - Advertisement -

    The induction ceremony took place in the Honorable John V. Diggins Ceremonial Courtroom, Delaware County Courthouse.

    Earlier Wednesday, two judges retained on the Court of Common Pleas, Judge George A. Pagano, Mary Alice Brennan along with newly elected Judge John J. Whelan were sworn in to serve Delaware County.

    Republican incumbent Lee Hunter secured another term following his hard-fought campaign in the 32-2-43 District covering Newtown Square and Radnor with 3,936 votes over Democratic challenger Christopher Bagnato’s 3,345 votes, according to unofficial returns with all 14 precincts reporting.

    Attorney and Interboro School Board member Michael Burns was sworn in to District 32-2-42 for the seat currently held by retiring Judge Peter P. Tozer.

    - Advertisement -

    Common Pleas Judge Gregory Mallon was acknowledged for his recent retirement following his nearly 3-decade.

    Recently retired Judge Nilon was also acknowledged for his 16-Years of distinguished service as a district judge and his career as a judge of the Delaware County Court of Common Pleas.

    The Honorable Michael A. Burns was sworn in at 2:13 p.m. “When I first got started on his I didn’t really have a lot of people who would stick out their necks for me – my friend Nancy told me to go door-to-door everyday. We put on some music, took a shot of espresso and got to work,” Burns said, mentioning his great support from both parties. “Then you have your emotional support. I had dinner in peoples homes. I had dogs and cats crawling all over me. I had people telling me of their loved ones who lost their lives to the opioid epidemic.” Burns’ mother put the judicial robe over her son after he took the oath of office, with his father holding the Bible for him.

    The Honorable Andrew Goldberg was sworn in at 2:23 p.m.

    “Due to the political composition in the County, the fact that I was facing an 18-year incumbent and that I had no political experience at all; I never thought I had a chance. I guess that changed,” Goldberg said. “I am thrilled to have been elected as the district court judge for Upper Providence.”

    The Honorable Wilden H. Davis was sworn in at 2:32 p.m. serving District Court 32-1-20.

    The Honorable Spencer B. Seaton, Jr. was sworn in at 2:34 p.m. serving District Court 32-1-22.

    The Honorable Robert M. D’Agostono, Esq. was sworn in at 2:37 p.m. serving District Court 32-1-24.

    The Honorable Robert R. Burke, Esq. was sworn in at 2:38 p.m. serving District Court 32-1-25.

    The Honorable Robert J. Radano was sworn in at 2:40 p.m. serving District Court 32-1-34.

    The Honorable Anne Beradocco was sworn in at 2:42 p.m. serving District Court 32-1-35.

    The Honorable David R. Griffin was sworn in at 2:44 p.m. serving District Court 32-1-36.

    The Honorable Diane M. Holefelder was sworn in at 2:46 p.m. serving District Court 32-2-38. Despite Judge Holdefelder being unopposed with the seat guaranteed, Court of Common Pleas Judge Linda A. Cartisano praised Holefelder for working the polls on Election Day.

    The Honorable Leon Hunter was sworn in at 2:48 p.m. serving District Court 32-2-43. Judge Hunter was endorsed by YC in the 2017 election.

    The Honorable Jack Lippart was sworn in at 2:50 p.m. serving District Court 32-2-44.

    The Honorable Keith Williams was sworn in at 2:52 p.m. serving District Court 32-2-47.

    - Advertisement -